Toyota 120 Platforms Forum

Toyota 120 Platforms Forum (http://www.toyota120.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maintenance (http://www.toyota120.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Timing question - Timing belt replacement - Help Needed (http://www.toyota120.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30328)

Chewyspark 09-15-2017 01:46 PM

Timing question - Timing belt replacement - Help Needed
 
So I was looking under the hood the other day and noticed this. Is this right? Shouldn't it be on Zero?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...2c24fb8ac7.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bulldog 09-15-2017 02:05 PM

No point in worrying about it if the engine is not running. You typically check ignition timing with the engine running at idle, full operating temperature and with a timing light.

Given that these modern engines are completely computer controlled you can't adjust the timing without reprograming the ECU.

For giggles you can hookup a timing light and look at it.

When you swap the cambelt or chain you use this to determine TDC of the crank to make sure the cams are lined up correctly. The manual typically will explain the exact position of the crank (which you an determine form these marks) and the cams (who has other markings on them).

Mikestang 09-15-2017 02:56 PM

Ah the good ol' days when you could adjust timing by rotating the distributor...

/oldmanmode

Chewyspark 01-24-2018 12:41 AM

Update...lol

2007 4.7 V8...tried the timing belt myself,.got to belt everything lined up(lines on

cams and oil pulley to the "l" and white dot) , clockwise to 50 degrees (did not rotate back to "l" position ) .. changed

belt, didn't mark new one just lined up the factory lines with the marks on cams/

oil pulley (I did mark old belt with R cam "l", if that helps any) put tensioner and

hand cranked until the factory markings on the belt came around 4 times (1/2

ratchet proper socket with spark plugs in, felt a little resistance but I figured it

was compression and just turning a V8 but hand)


And that's where I left it...I have one more day off work and would really appreciate any advice on this.

Did I f*** my car up? because I didn't return it to 0* before taking off old belt?
Is there a way to address the issue if so?

Thanks in advance!!

bulldog 01-24-2018 08:15 AM

Get the Factory Service manual, it should describe how to align the cams, crank, etc for a belt replacement. The OEM belt also has marks on it to help with the process. This way you don't have to guess.

bulldog 01-24-2018 08:17 AM

PS: I removed the double post, and updated this thread title to be more descriptive as well as moved it to maintenance. This way it is easier for people to see, pay attention and help.

Chewyspark 01-24-2018 09:26 AM

Thank you.

Chewyspark 01-24-2018 10:45 AM

This is after I removed belt and before I replaced water pump. Cams were line up with the "T" and the crank with the notch to pimple. Did I do it correct?

bulldog 01-24-2018 12:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chewyspark (Post 214544)
This is after I removed belt and before I replaced water pump. Cams were line up with the "T" and the crank with the notch to pimple. Did I do it correct?

Just double check the Factory Service Manual, last I checked they give pretty good instructions on how to locate the belt and teeth on the cams/crank.

Chewyspark 01-24-2018 01:04 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Is this correct?

bulldog 01-24-2018 04:47 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Crank and right side looks OK, not sure about left side (was that the timing mark when you took the belt off?)

See FSM for the alignment of the cams and crank with the belt.

Do you have an OEM belt?
If so was there any marks on it for the cams?

Chewyspark 01-24-2018 09:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bulldog (Post 214550)
Crank and right side looks OK, not sure about left side (was that the timing mark when you took the belt off?)

See FSM for the alignment of the cams and crank with the belt.

Do you have an OEM belt?
If so was there any marks on it for the cams?

This just became a lot more interesting... i ran out to run an errand and in that time my friend (that was helping me) took it upon himself to redo everything... which included removing the belt and moving the 3 pulleys individually... and now I'm completely lost on what to do... he got the belt on but the pulleys are nowhere near in sync. Any tips on this lol

Edit: yes I did have an oem belt with the left and right cam positions and the CR line as well. I had lined up but was unsure if it was right or not, which is when I posted and between then and now, that stupid situation happened above


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2013 Toyota120.com