Toyota 120 Platforms Forum
Google only search Toyota120

Go Back   Toyota 120 Platforms Forum > Shared tech > Maintenance

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-05-2016, 01:29 PM   #1
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,735
Angry How to test power to sensors

My VSC TRAC and VSC OFF have been lit up for probably a year.

I've cleaned the contacts, felt the wiring for breaks, replaced the gas cap, replaced the brake light switch but can't find the problem.

How do I use a millimeter (dumb dumb version please) to check whether I have a signal going to the sensors?

I've also done a zero point calibration, and tried to clear warning lights with code reader to no avail.


Any other smart ideas?

Thx
Mark.


LOL I mean multimeter (dumb auto correct)
__________________
Mark
04 V8 SE, RST Twin stick conversion, RST Tacoma Front Axle conversion, 17x9 MT ClassicLocks, 37" Cooper STT Mud, SW Sliders & Bullbar, ARB Locked F&R, 4.56's, Smittybilt 10,000lb winch, Radflo 2.5 remote resi coilovers and Radflo 2.5 rear shocks, 1.5 4Crawler BL, Flowmaster, CB and 2m/70cm Ham, Sat. Radio, CO2 system, Lightforce, African Outback Rack, Budbuilt, Front Runner RTT.

Last edited by expat; 11-05-2016 at 07:08 PM.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-05-2016, 03:23 PM   #2
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 12,185
Default

Not sure but it will be best to check the repair manual for tests on the sensors as they may only be input sensors. You can however use the ohm meter or continuity tester on most multimeters to make sure the sensor and circuit is still intact.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

03 pavement princess
06 toaster
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-05-2016, 07:11 PM   #3
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,735
Default

So with the multimeter do I just set to like 20vokts and touch both pins, or should the black wire if the multimeter go to the chassis (ground)?

Am I suppose to checks ohms? Is that resistance? What do I set the multimeter at to do that and what values should I be looking for?
__________________
Mark
04 V8 SE, RST Twin stick conversion, RST Tacoma Front Axle conversion, 17x9 MT ClassicLocks, 37" Cooper STT Mud, SW Sliders & Bullbar, ARB Locked F&R, 4.56's, Smittybilt 10,000lb winch, Radflo 2.5 remote resi coilovers and Radflo 2.5 rear shocks, 1.5 4Crawler BL, Flowmaster, CB and 2m/70cm Ham, Sat. Radio, CO2 system, Lightforce, African Outback Rack, Budbuilt, Front Runner RTT.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-05-2016, 07:14 PM   #4
Jeffy
JetBoil Master
 
Jeffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 747
Default

Like Andries said, continuity test is easiest. Saved me a ton of trouble after my lift on my 4th gen, turns out I had messed up the ABS wires on both sides, even though you couldn't tell from a visual inspection. If you've worked on the front end recently I'd check that first, it's the easiest to both test and fix

Continuity only checks that's the circuit is continuous though (hence the name). It won't help with testing to make sure the sensor is functioning at the right resistance
__________________
'03 v8 LTD Totaled
'11 SR5 Pelfreybilt :: Radflo :: Total Chaos :: Stubbs Sliders :: RB BL :: 34x10.5 BFG T/A KO2 :: JBL, JL Audio

Last edited by Jeffy; 11-05-2016 at 07:18 PM.
Jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-05-2016, 07:20 PM   #5
Jeffy
JetBoil Master
 
Jeffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by expat View Post
So with the multimeter do I just set to like 20vokts and touch both pins, or should the black wire if the multimeter go to the chassis (ground)?

Am I suppose to checks ohms? Is that resistance? What do I set the multimeter at to do that and what values should I be looking for?
Yes ohms is resistance. You'd have to check the manual or another source to find what the sensor value should be. Set the multimeter to the closest ohm value and touch both leads of the multimeter to the two pins on the sensor. The value on the multimeter should be the same as whatever the manual states

Example: manual states there should be 250 ohms of resistance. Set multimeter to 200 ohms, touch the leads to the sensor pins. It should read 250, or something very close
__________________
'03 v8 LTD Totaled
'11 SR5 Pelfreybilt :: Radflo :: Total Chaos :: Stubbs Sliders :: RB BL :: 34x10.5 BFG T/A KO2 :: JBL, JL Audio
Jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010,2011,2012 4runner Dual Battery (Tray$25, no Power Steering Reservoir relocation) johnnywofee 5th Gen 4Runner 10 11-12-2013 11:02 AM
Power Steering Failure (something to watch out for if you have a body lift) BlairB 4th Gen 4Runner & Hilux Surf 17 02-12-2010 01:02 AM
Where to tap into Switched Power (Aux/On) Vegas Runner Audio, Electronics and Electrical 5 07-14-2009 05:51 PM
Wheels & PSI sensors Redline 4th Gen 4Runner & Hilux Surf 22 11-10-2008 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2013 Toyota120.com