Toyota 120 Platforms Forum
Google only search Toyota120

Go Back   Toyota 120 Platforms Forum > Shared tech > Audio, Electronics and Electrical

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-11-2005, 06:56 PM   #1
lc120_man
Rookie
 
lc120_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default ScanGauge

Hi All,

Just trying to fund out if anyone got the ScanGauge fitted in your toyota 4wd? (http://www.scangauge.com/)
Just trying to work out if it is going to work in my Prado 120 as most models down here don't come with trip computer

Thanks.
__________________
Landcruiser Prado 120 GXL V6 Auto
lc120_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-11-2005, 08:20 PM   #2
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

I haven't heard of anybody using that on a Toyota. It looks like it just uses the OBDII data by collecting it through the diagnostics connection.

Note that Toyota has switched to the CAN protocol on most their models in 2005, and the older OBDII sytem don't seem to work properly. A number of ODBII tools are listed not to work on 2005 4Runner and GX470s here.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 10:21 PM   #3
lc120_man
Rookie
 
lc120_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

We bought a few units Down Under and we found that it actually works on a 2005 model Prados (120 Series) in CANSF mode, which it picks up automatically, but it does not work on Prados built beetween
March 2003 and June 2004 inclusive.
__________________
Landcruiser Prado 120 GXL V6 Auto
lc120_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 10:32 PM   #4
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

Thx for the info. I would have thought it to be the other way round, but good to know.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 11:50 AM   #5
Teotwaki
Adventurer
 
Teotwaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lc120_man
Hi All,

Just trying to fund out if anyone got the ScanGauge fitted in your toyota 4wd? (http://www.scangauge.com/)
Just trying to work out if it is going to work in my Prado 120 as most models down here don't come with trip computer

Thanks.
How has the device been working?

Any trouble mounting it? Where did you find the connector under the dash to plug into?

Any pictures?
__________________
Jim
My Adventure Blog: "Sun To The North"
'05 SR5 4WD V6
HQ sliders, OW Suspension, LT265/75/R16C Duratracs, rear diff. breather, ScanGauge II, Garmin 276C, Engel 45 fridge, All-Pro LCAs, TC A-Arm Skids, dual batteries, Downey skid plate, Cyclone pre-filter, ARB Compressor & Rear Locker!! Offroad Trailer
Photos http://www.toyota120.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1237
Teotwaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 12:02 PM   #6
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

The scan guage II looks interesting and they will have an update later this year with USB connectivity for a laptop, hmmm.

It plugs into the OBDII port (by interior fuseblock). I just dont like the fact that it seemingly does not support 03-04 4R,GX, etc. Maybe the new model does.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 06:01 PM   #7
lc120_man
Rookie
 
lc120_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog
I just dont like the fact that it seemingly does not support 03-04 4R,GX, etc. Maybe the new model does.
Bulldog,

How do you know that? Is there link somewhere who bought it and tried on
those cars? The reason I am asking as it doesn't work on 03-04 Prados as
well... The Ron from ScanGauge would more likely have a look at the problem and fixed it if they had the car with them...

We got them to update the ScanGauge so the it displays fuel consumption Liters per 100 km in addition to Miles per Gallon....
__________________
Landcruiser Prado 120 GXL V6 Auto
lc120_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 06:05 PM   #8
lc120_man
Rookie
 
lc120_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teotwaki
How has the device been working?

Any trouble mounting it? Where did you find the connector under the dash to plug into?

Any pictures?
Give me another week. The ScanGauge2 is due to arrive any day...
The original ScanGauge is more bulky and didn't work in my 2004 Prado,
so I was using it in my Toyota Echo

It does work on petrol Prados from Semptember 2004 onwards, but I don't
think it works in diesel Prados..

I sent my ScanGauge back for update and it got lost on the way back, so
now they are sending a ScanGauge 2 as a replacement
__________________
Landcruiser Prado 120 GXL V6 Auto
lc120_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 06:05 PM   #9
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lc120_man
Bulldog,

How do you know that? Is there link somewhere who bought it and tried on
those cars? The reason I am asking as it doesn't work on 03-04 Prados as
well... The Ron from ScanGauge would more likely have a look at the problem and fixed it if they had the car with them...

We got them to update the ScanGauge so the it displays fuel consumption Liters per 100 km in addition to Miles per Gallon....
I said seemingly, I have not heard of anybody trying it. The reason why I say that is the 03-04 4Rs and Prados use the older ODB protocol while from the 05 model year up they started to use the CAN protocol on all of the models. If it doesn't work on the Prado it is very unlikely that it will work on the 4R. However the Scangauge II might have different protocols supported.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2006, 06:16 PM   #10
lc120_man
Rookie
 
lc120_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog
I said seemingly, I have not heard of anybody trying it. The reason why I say that is the 03-04 4Rs and Prados use the older ODB protocol while from the 05 model year up they started to use the CAN protocol on all of the models. If it doesn't work on the Prado it is very unlikely that it will work on the 4R. However the Scangauge II might have different protocols supported.
The original ScanGauge supports about 6 Protocols: including SCANF,SCANC,
ISO and about 3 others... It connects to Toyota Echo on ISO protocol but doesn't pickup Prados...

So basically the best thing for someone who wants to use one is get one and if it doen't work get the ScanGauge to make it work or get your money back if they can't...
__________________
Landcruiser Prado 120 GXL V6 Auto
lc120_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2013 Toyota120.com