Toyota 120 Platforms Forum
Google only search Toyota120

Go Back   Toyota 120 Platforms Forum > Shared tech > Audio, Electronics and Electrical

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-11-2005, 01:21 AM   #1
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,881
Default Cable gauge question

Can someone inform me about different descriptions for wire gauge...

What is the difference between

#3

3/0

250 mcm

I gather it's something to do with thickness...but is it anything else?

Thanks

Mark
__________________
04 V8 SE, Completion date July 24: RST Solid axles Swap, Atlas Crawl Case, 40" Cooper STT Pro's on Fuel Anza D116 Beadlocks, 5:38 gear set, ADS Coilovers, 4x4 labs R.Bumper.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-2005, 10:35 AM   #2
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

3/0 or OOO is much thicker than #3 or AWG 3 or 3 gauge wire. About twice the diameter. To see amp ratings, resistance and voltage drop go here

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

The gauge only refers to the thickness of the wire. The insolation determines how warm it can get adn ultimately both these factors are used to determine how much amps can be carried by the wire in a real world application.

I would go for 2 gauge or 2/0 wire as they are more commonly availible or 4 gauge. Also look for wire with more strands in it as they tend be easier to work with. On my dual batt write up has a site which sels these wires, etc so you can look at pricing.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-2005, 09:28 PM   #3
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,881
Default

Thanks A.
__________________
04 V8 SE, Completion date July 24: RST Solid axles Swap, Atlas Crawl Case, 40" Cooper STT Pro's on Fuel Anza D116 Beadlocks, 5:38 gear set, ADS Coilovers, 4x4 labs R.Bumper.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2005, 01:47 PM   #4
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

No prob

What are you planning to use the cables for?
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2005, 09:43 PM   #5
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,881
Default

1200W inverter
__________________
04 V8 SE, Completion date July 24: RST Solid axles Swap, Atlas Crawl Case, 40" Cooper STT Pro's on Fuel Anza D116 Beadlocks, 5:38 gear set, ADS Coilovers, 4x4 labs R.Bumper.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2005, 10:02 PM   #6
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

Ah OK. 4gauge should be OK for a 1200W inverter. 2gauge will be slightly better if you mount the inverter in the back. Enjoy, I only have a 800W inverter and still have to really use it.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2005, 10:37 PM   #7
05sport4x4
Senior Driver
 
05sport4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 501
Default

Where are you planning to mount it? Oh and please take some photos to share. I was thinking of adding one also and always like to learn from someone that has sucessfully done it before.
__________________
John

05 4Runner Sport V6 - Goodyear SA 275/70/17, Donahoe Adj C/O', Custom rear colis, Radflo rear shocks, Hanna sliders
89 Extra Cab 4x4 Pickup, 22re, 31x10.5 w/4.56's & ARB in rear
05sport4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-2005, 01:39 PM   #8
expat
White Boomer (Kangaroo)
 
expat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05sport4x4
Where are you planning to mount it? Oh and please take some photos to share. I was thinking of adding one also and always like to learn from someone that has sucessfully done it before.
I am not sure where I will mount it yet.

I don't want a storage cupboard setup because I use the rear for many different purposes and I would personally find a semi permanent storage unit inconvenient. I would normally mount my compressor and an invertor on such a unit.

I'm thinking quick-disconnect and hidden wiring a must. I also want to integrate the compressor into the design as I am unhappy with it being in the engine compartment - its too hot and dusty.


Mostly likely I will try a mount on the back of the rear seats.
__________________
04 V8 SE, Completion date July 24: RST Solid axles Swap, Atlas Crawl Case, 40" Cooper STT Pro's on Fuel Anza D116 Beadlocks, 5:38 gear set, ADS Coilovers, 4x4 labs R.Bumper.
expat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-2005, 10:12 PM   #9
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,308
Default

DO you have the JBL amp in the right rear quater panel? If not you might be able to fit the stuff in there.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2006, 01:01 PM   #10
K6UK
Driver
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 249
Default Wire Gage Capacities

Here's a helpful chart of wire gage capacities. Helpful when you're hooking things up:

http://www.1stopelectronics.com/size-wire.htm

-Mike


PS. Somehow I missed the fact that Bulldog already posted a far better resource.

Last edited by K6UK.; 06-18-2006 at 01:25 PM.
K6UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire/Wheel question bigphill85 Suspension and Tires 3 12-04-2005 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2013 Toyota120.com