Toyota 120 Platforms Forum
Google only search Toyota120

Go Back   Toyota 120 Platforms Forum > Shared tech > Audio, Electronics and Electrical

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-01-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,314
Default Garmin 276c and Mac OSX

I tried various things, but getting my Macbook Pro to talk to my 276c is not happening. I updated the firmware on the 276, but no go.

I also run VMWare Fusion with Win7 64 bit, with the latest drivers and still no go.

I have Mountain Lion with the last updates as well, FYI.

If I use BootCamp and boot to WIn7 64 bit with the latest USB it works with the 276c. Can update SW and upload maps, etc. Seems that this is the only way to do it, but a pain to boot to Windows vs a VM or directly to the Mac OS.

I'm going to move form Mapsource to Basecamp to manage Garmin files going forward as well.

So anybody using a 276 with Mac? If so, what did you guys do?
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2013, 12:26 PM   #2
Joel
Admin
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 39.5 N 119.86 W
Posts: 1,837
Default

I just plug mine in via USB and it shows up in Basecamp.

__________________
Joel
KE7RTX
http://no-ip.com

2004 Limited 4WD V8
Mods.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2013, 01:05 PM   #3
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,314
Default

Not sure why the OS is not seeing it, I have 5.6 FW on the 276, the GPS shows USB connected, but in BaseCamp nothing.

Seems like the Mac just ignores it. Works fine if I boot Windows 7 on the Mac though.

BTW, what Mac are you using with it and what OS version?
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider

Last edited by bulldog; 01-02-2013 at 01:10 PM.
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
Joel
Admin
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 39.5 N 119.86 W
Posts: 1,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog View Post
Not sure why the OS is not seeing it, I have 5.6 FW on the 276, the GPS shows USB connected, but in BaseCamp nothing.

Seems like the Mac just ignores it. Works fine if I boot Windows 7 on the Mac though.

BTW, what Mac are you using with it and what OS version?
08 Mac Pro with Mountain Lion
276c has 5.6 on it also

Similar problem sounds like: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4454717
__________________
Joel
KE7RTX
http://no-ip.com

2004 Limited 4WD V8
Mods.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2013, 03:48 PM   #5
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,314
Default

Thx, seems the new Mac Pro (12) may have this issue with the USB3.

Will see if I can find an old USB2 hub and see if I can trick it.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-06-2013, 03:33 PM   #6
bulldog
Admin
 
bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 12,314
Default

Fixed the problem.

Seems that the USB3.0 ports on the new Macbooks are not so friendly to older USB equipment (nice job Apple!!). I simply got a cheapie GearHead USB2.0 4 port hub. Plugged it into the Macbook, and then the GPS into the Hub. Mac OS and BaseCamp picked up the 276c no problem.

Time to install all the maps on the Mac OS now.

I must say, while I love the very solid Unix underpinnings of OSX and the X Windows desktop layout of OSX, it is quite a pain to switch over from Windows. It is funny that people go gaga over Apple UI, when it is modern refresh of Unix workstations of the late 80's early 90s. Same goes for IOS UI, which is a modern rendition of old CAD UI concepts. At least somebody got it right, since MS clearly lost the plot for a few decades now.
__________________
andries
K9BDG

2019 Low Rider
bulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-06-2013, 05:49 PM   #7
Cruiserhead
Super Moderator
 
Cruiserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,574
Default

good info thanks Andries

I'll keep this in mind when I try the same
Cruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2013 Toyota120.com